Receiving a phone call recently as an apology for stressed behavior, gave me pause for some thinking. The call served to help me recognize some things about myself. Primarily, I tend to absorb what is going on in the people around me with whom I share a close relationship. There are times that I absorb another’s behavior, desires, or worries to the point where I no longer am loving well.

In an effort to be a good friend, co-worker, mom sister, daughter, grandmother, etc., I absorb the emotions and desires of others swirling around me. Before long, all I have absorbed begins to collide and smash inside of me. The emotion of one affects the desire of another and before long I feel caught in the middle – if only in my heart. I quickly find myself moving past the point of absorption to the point of frustration with others – and myself.

Knowing the gift of sensing others’ needs, desires and emotions comes from the Lord, I struggle to absorb rightly.  Psalm 119:17-24 gives words to the struggle and direction:  “Be generous with me and I’ll live a full life; not for a minute will I take my eyes off your road. Open my eyes so I can see what you show me of your miracle-wonders. My soul is starved and hungry, ravenous! – insatiable for your nourishing commands…I’m absorbed in pondering your wise counsel…”

Aware of others, but absorbed with the Lord! There is blessing and wisdom in following His plan. Spending time with Him means I am absorbing who He is, His characteristics, His desires, and His plans. My point of absorption is all about my Lord. In so doing, my interaction and relationship with others is held in proper perspective. Absorbed with, and by Him, I am in a position to love well.

